Story time blog…. One Night Stand part 5

imagesCAY1ZB94One Night Stand by Tlj

Part 5 

  The next day at work Chrissy’s co-worker Amber came into her office with tears in her eyes. Chrissy immediately closed her door and wrapped her arm around Amber.

What’s wrong sweetie? Why are you so upset?

 

(Amber wiped the tears from her eyes and took a deep breath) It’s Mr. Thornberry.  He was murdered.

 

 

(Chrissy chuckled to herself) Murdered?!  Oh my God!!

 

Yes murdered!  They found what was left of his body in a motel room badly burned.

 

A motel room?  Burned?/ Oh my do they know what happened? (she asked cautiously)

 

No they don’t but they think it is related to the  murder they have been talking about on the news for the past month.  That Gary guy.

 

Oh yea, I heard about that too.  WOW that is scary.

 

Yes it is.  There are some detectives here that will be speaking to everyone in that was in the office yesterday.

 

Why? (she shouted)

 

Because this was the last place he was seen alive.  Are you ok?

 

Oh that makes since.  Well I hope they find the psycho that’s doing this.  I didn’t really know him but I was looking forward to getting to know him on the company trip.

 

He was a really great guy.  Between you and I, he was very special to me (she winked her eye).

 

(Chrissy hugged her) I am even more sorry to hear that.  If you need me let me know.

 

Thanks Chrissy.  Detective Gerard will be in shortly to speak with you.

 

Ok no problem.

 

   A few hours later Detective Gerard and his partner Detective Pearson came into Chrissy’s office while she was on the phone. She gestured to them to have a seat.

 

(Chrissy finished up her phone conversation) Honey can you please take the steak out and make sure to stop by and grab a bottle of wine.  Leslie and Mark are coming by for dinner tonight. (she pauses) My flight leaves at 10 am tomorrow so you have to remember to pick Ally up from school. (she pauses) Ok baby I have to someone is in my office. (she pauses again) love you too.

 

(After she hung up she stood up to shake their hands) Sorry about that.  We are having a little dinner party at home.

 

No problem Ms…..

 

It’s Mrs. Evans and you are?

 

I am Detective Gerard and this is my partner Detective Pearson.  Mrs. Evans I am sure you heard about your boss Mr. Thornberry’s murder.

 

Oh my yes I did.  That is awful!  I just met him for the first time yesterday

 

Ok so you did not know him well?

 

No not at all. I am new here.  I just started here a few months ago. yesterday was my first time meeting him.  Seemed like a really good guy.

 

Well in the short time that you spoke to him did you notice anything off,. different etc…. did he seem upset, worried or unfocused?

 

He was only in here for a few minutes and he seemed ok.  I guess. I didn’t know him so I am not sure what his normal behavior is but he seemed very nice.  He came in with my boss to compliment on my work since I’ve been here and then he left.

 

Was that the last time you saw him?

 

Yes the fist and the last.  (she shook her head) wow I can’t believe he was killed.  Do you guys have any clues?

 

We have a few leads but we still have a long ways to go. Sounds like you will be leaving town huh?  Vacation??

 

My best friend is getting married in Vegas and I’m in the wedding.

 

Oh sounds like fun.

 

Maybe if I was about 10 years younger it would be fun now it’s tiring (she laughed)

 

If you by any chance think of anything else please give me a call (he gave her his card)

 

(she sat the card of the desk) No problem at all. Good luck on finding the nut case who did that.

 

Well we will get out of your way.  Sorry to bug you. have a good day

 

No problem at all.

 

 

   The next day Chrissy hopped on a plane to Las Vegas for her best friends wedding.  She was seated right next to a very handsome business man. She noticed he was checking her out so she decided to go to the bathroom and freshen up.  As she slid passed him to get to the isle she made sure to rub up against him as much as possible.  While she was in the restroom she put on some of Japanese cherry blossom lotion and added some lip-gloss to make her lips pop before she went back to her seat.   As soon as she sat down the guy was all over her.

 

Wow you smell amazing. (he smiled) I hope that wasn’t offensive but I couldn’t help it.

 

(Chrissy gave him a devilish smile) Thank you and i’m not offended at all.  I’m glad you like how I smell since we will be stuck on this plan next to each other for the next 4 hours.

 

I wouldn’t want to be sitting next to anyone else (he winked)   My name is Erin and your name is?

 

Chris a.k.a. sunshine

 

I love sunshine!

 

You should!

 

So are you going to Vegas for business or pleasure?

 

Pleasure (she smiled and looked out of the window) hopefully a lot of it too.

 

Well maybe I can help you with that. Pleasure is what I do.

 

Is that right?

 

Yes it is.  I have a meeting when i get to Vegas but after that I am free for the rest of the night.  You want to grab a drink with me?

 

I plan to grab more than a drink with you. (she searched through her bag for her second phone) What is your number sexy?

 

I like you.  You are no nonsense and straight to the point kind of girl .  (he licked his lips) here is my card please lock my number in.

 

Don’t worry I will.  (she yawned) but i am sleepy now so I wake me up when we land

 

Yes get some rest because your going to need it.

 

We shall see.

 

Chrissy pulled out here travel blanket and pillow and it was lights out.  A few hours later the plane landed in Vegas and Erin walked her to baggage claim.  

 

I hope you don’t stand me up tonight Chris.  I am dying to see you later

 

You just don’t know how true that statement is.

 

What does that mean?

 

I can show you better than I can tell so make sure you answer my call later.

 

I will be waiting for that call believe me.

 

Chrissy grabbed her bags and walked away leaving Erin standing their with a mental hard on and a smile on his face. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

